South Africa for dummies

South Africa

  • Pinotage = cinsault and pinot noir


Wine of origin (WO) – 85% of a vintage must comprise the wine

South africas wine producing areas are divided into 5 large geographical areas

  1. Western cape
  2. Northern Cape
  3. Eastern Cape
  4. Kwazulu natal
  5. Limpodo

Most of the wine production occurs on the western cape and is confined to the south western zone and its 6 regions

  1. coastal zone
  2. cape south coast
  3. breede river valley
  4. klein karoo
  5. olfiants river
  6. Boderg


White grapes: Chenin blanc, Chardonnay, Sav Blanc, Colombard, Gewertz,

Red Grapes: Pinotage, Cab Sav, Merlot, Shiraz, Pinot Noir


Cap Classique – south African sparkling wine






Coastal region

8 districts.

  1. Stellenbosch (Most prominent)
  2. Cape Point
  3. Tygerberg
  4. Paarl
  5. Tulbagh
  6. Darling
  7. Franschhoek Valley
  8. Swartland
  • Main Grapes include cab sav, pinotage, sav blanc, Semillon, chenin blanc, chardonnay


Breede River valley

  • Roberston
  • Worcester
  • Breedekloof


Klein Karoo

  • Fortified wine is the focus here


Olifants River region

  • Colombard and chenin blanc are the main grape varietals 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: